Skip to main content
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you're on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Freedom of Information Act

The Freedom of Information Act (PDF) (FOIA) was enacted by Congress in 1966 to give the American public greater access to the federal government’s records. This law gives any person the right to obtain any federal agency records, or portions of them, that are not protected from disclosure by any of the nine FOIA exemptions.

For instructions on how to obtain documents from FCA, go to Submitting a FOIA request. (For more detailed guidance on submitting FOIA requests to FCA, see the FCA handbook Obtaining Information under the Freedom of Information Act (PDF).

The Electronic Freedom of Information Act Amendments of 1996 expanded the scope of the FOIA to include electronic records. These amendments also required federal agencies to create an online index of records that have been disclosed in response to FOIA requests or that are likely to become the subject of requests. For a list of FCA documents that fit this description, click the FOIA reading room panel below.

FCA’s FOIA program is administered by Jane Virga, Chief FOIA Officer, 703-883-4071, [email protected].

Page updated: January 11, 2024