Web Site Notices and Policies


Web Site Security



Freedom of Information Act

No FEAR Act Data

Whistleblower Protection

FAIR Act Commercial Activities Inventory

Information Quality

Links to Other Web Sites

Schedule for Posting Web Content

Personal Identity Verification Credentials

Home > Web Site Notices and Policies >

Freedom of Information Act

The Freedom of Information Act (FOIA) was enacted by Congress in 1966 to give the American public greater access to the Federal Government’s records. This law gives any person the right to obtain any Federal agency records, or portions of them, that are not protected from disclosure by any of the nine FOIA exemptions.

For instructions on how to obtain documents from FCA, go to Submitting a FOIA Request. (For more detailed guidance on submitting FOIA requests to FCA, see the FCA handbook Obtaining Information under the Freedom of Information Act.)

The Electronic Freedom of Information Act Amendments of 1996 expanded the scope of the FOIA to include electronic records. These amendments also required Federal agencies to create an online index of records that have been disclosed in response to FOIA requests or that are likely to become the subject of requests. For a list of FCA documents that fit this description, see FOIA Reading Room.

FCA’s FOIA program is administered by Jane Virga, Chief FOIA Officer, 703-883-4071, chieffoiaofficer@fca.gov.