Previous Document IconPrevious News Release

Next Document IconNext News ReleaseExam Manual Table of Contents IconNews Release Menu

News ReleaseFarm Credit Administration
1501 Farm Credit Drive
McLean, Virginia 22102-5090

For Immediate Release
NR-05-14 (09-13-05)
Contact: Martha Schober or Christine Quinn, 703-883-4056
Web site:

Farm Credit Administration Names Director of Office of Secondary Market Oversight

McLEAN, Va., September 13, 2005 — The Farm Credit Administration (FCA or Agency) Board today announced the appointment of S. Robert Coleman as Director of the Office of Secondary Market Oversight (OSMO).

As the Director of OSMO, Mr. Coleman is responsible for the examination, supervision and regulation of the Federal Agricultural Mortgage Corporation (Farmer Mac). Congress created Farmer Mac in 1987 to improve the availability of mortgage financing to farmers, ranchers, and rural America. It provides a secondary market for agricultural real estate and rural housing mortgage loans and helps provide greater liquidity to agricultural lenders.

Mr. Coleman joined FCA in 1986 after graduating from Virginia Polytechnic Institution and State University in Blacksburg, Virginia, with a bachelor’s degree in Agricultural Economics. He has held several positions with the Agency, beginning with the Office of Examination where he became a commissioned FCA Examiner in 1990. Since 2003, Mr. Coleman has served as the Director of the Regulation and Policy Division where he was responsible for managing and coordinating the development of Agency policy and regulations on behalf of the FCA Board and oversaw Farm Credit System bank debt issuance.

Mr. Coleman is a Chartered Financial Analyst from the CFA Institute. He and his wife, Susan, are the parents of three children and live in Oak Hill, Virginia.
The Farm Credit Administration is the safety and soundness regulator of the cooperative Farm Credit System. FCA charters, regulates, and examines the 109 banks, associations, and service corporations of the System. System institutions make loans to agricultural producers and their cooperatives nationwide. Members of the FCA Board are Nancy C. Pellett, Chairman and CEO, Douglas L. “Doug” Flory, and Dallas P. Tonsager.

Note: FCA news releases are available on the Internet. Access the FCA Home Page at